Sophisticated Turkey, Apple, and Brie Sandwich

I know I said in my recent post that I try to avoid just the plain turkey sandwich everyday, but this turkey sandwich is something special. Tastes super sophisticated (hence the title) and gourmet, yet is incredibly easy to put together. There’s almost no point in even including a recipe.

This recipe has sweet & salty elements that harmoniously come together to make a flipping amazing sandwich. Sweet fig jam along with salty turkey and a peppery bite from the arugula- YUM. The sandwich also has an interesting combination of textures from the crunch of the arugula and the creamy gooey-ness from the brie cheese. I feel so fancy when I eat this sandwich.

While we’re on the topic of sweet/salty things, this week has been bittersweet for me. I had my last choir opera concert and swing choir concert. They both went extremely well and I’m so proud of all of the hard work that we (my fellow choir kids) put into these performances. It was a memorable way to end high school.

Choir and theatre have been my life for the past four years. I’ve dedicated so much time, learned so much, made so many incredible friends, and have been given so many amazing opportunities through the performing arts department. For every show or concert I’m a part of, it’s a different experience each time. However, one thing is the same. You put in a crazy amount of hard work and develop a special kind of bond with the people you’re performing with that no one else understands. You can feel that bond between the performers on stage and it’s why any form of art can be so moving. As a performer, you have the ability to tell a story and send a powerful message to audiences that can be life changing for them. It’s why I find such enjoyment and fulfillment with every performance I am a part of. Acting and singing are more than just activities I do in my free time, they are passions that I’ll keep in my life always.

Some people wonder why I am not majoring in theatre for college and pursuing it as a career since I seem so passionate about it. I initially thought about it and wondered if I was even good enough to make it. However, after fully thinking about what it would entail I realized that just because you love something doesn’t mean you want to do it everyday of your life. I don’t think theatre and singing would be as special for me if I were forced to do it everyday. I realized that being an actor wasn’t what I was aspiring to be anymore. Just like how people change as life goes on, their dreams change as well.

There are other things, like food, that I am extremely passionate about (obviously), that I can see myself loving as a career (something business related in the food industry). I still want to keep theatre and singing a part of my life, but I don’t think I would ultimately be happy  if I were to pursue it as a full-time career. For me, it’s all about being happy in the end. As I get older, I can be involved in community theatre, take acting classes, or even be a director for a local children’s production.

Going back to the sandwich, because this is a food blog where I am supposed to be mostly talking about food… I hope you try out this sandwich and like it!

FullSizeRender 2
I used this brand of fig preserves and it was delicious!

You can certainly make it at home for a weekend lunch or you can also bring it to school! Whenever I bring this sandwich to school for lunch, it always keeps well and maintains its flavor and good texture. If you do decide to bring the sandwich for lunch, don’t toast the bread otherwise the sandwich will get soggy.

Turkey, Apple, and Brie Sandwich

FullSizeRender

Total time: 5 minutes

Serves 1

Ingredients:

2 slices of bread of your choosing (I used a nice multi-grain bread from Three Tarts in Northfield, but you can also use just plain whole wheat sandwich bread)

1 granny smith apple cut into thin slices (I used only half of the apple)

1 Tbsp. fig preserves or jam (quantity depends on your preference)

A few slices of Brie cheese

A few slices of turkey breast (fresh from the deli counter)

Handful of arugula

 

Directions:

  1. Toast your slices of bread (optional)
  2. Cut 1/2 of apple into thin slices and set aside
  3. To assemble sandwich: spread an even layer of fig preserves on one side of the bread. Next add on slices of Brie, apples, turkey, arugula, and top slice of bread.
  4. Prepare yourself to taste the best sandwich you have ever made before.

 

Make sure to check out my next blog post later on this week where I’ll be sharing 4 healthy, easy, homemade snack recipes!

One thought on “Sophisticated Turkey, Apple, and Brie Sandwich

  1. lauravoices May 4, 2016 / 2:19 am

    Great post with such heartfelt words! I love how you made it personal. It’s nice getting to know you through your blog and your recipes reflect a lot of who you are. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

