Deconstructed Farro Sushi Bowl With Tofu

Throughout the four weeks that I’ve been working on this blog for my senior project, I’ve tried to create recipes that cover different ethnicities. I showed you a southwestern kale salad, a mediterranean quinoa tabbouleh, an Italian pasta salad, and now I have for you a deconstructed sushi bowl!

 I LOVE SUSHI. Love love love it. Whenever my family goes out for sushi, we inhale about three rolls of sushi in a matter of minutes. In my opinion, all of the sushi ends up tasting the same once you eat enough pieces, but hey, it’s delicious so it doesn’t matter to me.
FullSizeRender 4

I don’t go out for sushi that often because my family cooks dinner most nights. My younger brother also isn’t a fan of sushi, so when we decide to go out for dinner, he’ll proceed to whine and ask if we can go to a place that has his favorite foods a.k.a hamburgers, pizza, hot dogs, and basically anything American.

 Because I don’t go out for sushi that often, I find myself craving it constantly. So now instead of trying to make my own sushi at home, which looks like a real pain in the butt, you can create this sushi bowl instead at home!

 It’s nutritious, filling, and full of flavor! Spicy and crispy tofu, creamy avocado, a fresh crunch of cucumber and carrot, sweet mango, nutritious farro, and a nice sprinkle of sesame seeds for good measure. The bowl has interesting textures and flavors and will make you want to stand up and do a little happy dance.

FullSizeRender 5

Feel free to add fresh tuna or salmon if you want instead of the tofu if you aren’t a big tofu lover. Make sure that if you are using raw tuna or salmon, that it’s good quality. You also can replace the farro with rice or quinoa instead. I just like the texture of farro in this recipe, it’s nice to switch it up a little from the normal quinoa or rice. Farro tastes like a chewier more tender rice, almost like farfel. It’s super nutritious as well. Quinoa and farro are essentially the same when it comes to protein, fiber, and carb values, but farro has more calcium. Both are healthy and are used in plenty of delicious recipes. I’ll put a link below to some of my favorite farro/quinoa recipes!

 Farro recipes:

http://www.prouditaliancook.com/2015/01/winter-salad-roasted-grapes-farro.html

http://pinchofyum.com/garlic-butter-mushroom-risotto

Quinoa recipes:

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2013/12/slow-cooker-quinoa-chicken-kale-soup/

http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2013/04/crunchy-cashew-thai-quinoa-salad-with-ginger-peanut-dressing/#comment-5123

Every week, my mom and I make a batch of quinoa or farro and then throughout the week we incorporate it into our salads for lunch. We also sometimes grill up a few chicken breasts in the beginning of the week so that we can use it in our lunches. You may have heard about Sunday meal-prep, it has been trending in the food blogging/Youtube community recently. There are some people who’re crazy with their meal prep on Sunday. They have every meal planned out, they pre-wash and cut all of their fruits/vegetables for the week, and they make all of their grains/pasta that they need for the week. My family does not do that. That just seems like over-kill. My mom and I particularly just try to think ahead about what we want for lunch so that we’re in control of what we are eating and we aren’t forced to just make a turkey sandwich each day. That can get really boring. All it takes is a little planing ahead and effort on Sunday when you’re trying to avoid doing homework anyways.

I hope you decide to try out this super easy and delicious sushi bowl! I am so excited for next week’s recipes, I think you’ll really enjoy them. A sophisticated sandwich and some great, homemade, healthy snacks are coming soon!

Deconstructed Farro Sushi Bowl with Tofu

IMG_1340 2

Serves 2

Prep time: 10 minute

Cook time: 35 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup farro (may only use a portion of this depending on how much you want in your bowl. Use the rest for another recipe!)

6 oz. extra-firm tofu

1/2 cup english cucumber

1 mango sliced

1 Tbsp. scallions

1/2 cup shaved carrot

1/2 avocado

1/2 cup cooked edamame

sprinkle of black sesame seeds

a few nori sheets on the side (optional)

Sauce for tofu:

1 Tbsp. soy sauce

1 tsp. sesame oil

1 Tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1/2 tsp. fresh ginger

2 tsp. chili-garlic sauce

1 1/2 Tbsp. honey

Directions:

  1. To cook farro: follow directions on package.
  2. While farro is cooking, drain the tofu of the excess water and cut into 2-inch cubes.
  3. Make the sauce for the tofu. Whisk together soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, fresh ginger, chili-garlic sauce, and honey.
  4. Turn pan on the stove to medium-high heat. Dip pieces of tofu into the sauce and place on hot pan. Let tofu cook for about 2 minutes on either side. The tofu should have a nice crisp dark brown color to it.
  5. Cut slices of cucumbers, mango, carrots (I used the carrot peeler and made shaved strips), and scallions. Cut cubes of avocado and cook edamame (I used pre-cooked frozen Trader Joe’s edamame and just had to defrost them with hot water.)
  6. Assemble bowl by placing farro in bowl and lay on tofu, cucumber, carrot, edamame, mango, and avocado on top. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and scallions. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

