Happy Earth Day!

I sadly don’t have a recipe for you today, but fear not, I will be posting one in the beginning of next week.

I thought it would be a great time, since it is Earth Day today, to talk about my favorite re-usable products! Even though I wouldn’t say I am a big outdoorsy kind of kid, I still thought it would be fun and festive to celebrate Earth Day on my blog. As I was walking home from school today I realized just how beautiful this planet is. The bright sun, the vibrant green grass, the colorful flowers. All of it was stunning and I would hate to see it disappear soon. So take the opportunity on Earth Day to take a vow: to do your best to help save the environment. It can be something as simple as taking a quicker shower so you don’t waste water. Or you can buy any of these reusable products (I’ll share the links with you). Any small effort goes a long way!

I also will be sharing with you some of my favorite store-bought snack products for when I’m not in the mood to make something homemade. We’re all busy people and it’s nice to know a few snack options that are portable as well as healthy and nutritious.I’m sort of making this post all about my favorite products!

Some of you may not know this about me, but I love all kinds of plastic storage containers. So much so, that I even put them on my Hanukkah gift list last year. Yeah you read that correctly, I wanted my gifts to be plastic containers and various kitchen items. You could say I am not your typical teenager, but hey the kitchen gadgets makes me happy, so what’s the harm?

You have no idea how pumped I was when I got these colorful, reusable spoon/fork/knifes. Before, I had to use plastic utensils. Those aren’t as fun and they also are wasteful. Don’t hurt our planet!!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014R3G6XA/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_1?pf_rd_p=1944687522&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B001EXOA3K&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1KFBYDPDZY9AVTWGKHAA

FullSizeRender 10

Going back to plastic storage containers…this container that I use is epic. It has TWO LEVELS. The upper level has these two compartments for your side dishes. Then you can remove the upper level and put your sandwich in the bottom layer. It sort of reminds me of a little bento box, so cute!

http://novohousewares.com/lunch-box-clic-tite-double-decker.htmlIMG_1270FullSizeRender 12

Get ready for these. These are stackable mini containers for all of your favorite snacks!! 4 different sized containers. 4 different snacking options. You can take them apart and use them individually if you’d like. I have put lots of different types of snacks in these containers such as: trail mix, hummus & carrots, apples & peanut butter, guacamole and chips, celery & almond butter, pretzels, or fruit!

http://www.amazon.com/BlenderBottle-GoStak-Storage-4-Piece-Starter/dp/B00CZAQIZ4

FullSizeRender 4

To answer your question, yes I do have four lunch boxes. Why, you may ask? Because I am an extremely forgetful person who has lost a total of five lunch boxes in my lifetime. I also like having multiple different ones because they’re so pretty and fun!! Not many people can say that they enjoy making their lunch for school everyday, I sure do. Do yourself a favor and get a bright, fun lunchbox. You deserve it and the Earth does too. Say adios to boring paper bag lunches!

http://www.amazon.com/BYO-Rambler-Neoprene-Lunch-Moroccan/dp/B00TWJ31R4/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1461358441&sr=1-1&refinements=p_4%3ABYO

FullSizeRender 8

Ok so this next product really isn’t related to making lunch at all, I just really enjoy it! It’s a popsicle mold so that you can make your own homemade popsicles for the summer! Let me know if you’d like me to do a blog post with some homemade popsicle recipes in the future! I have a few that are delightful and way healthier than your store-bought popsicles with a bunch of added artificial sugars. You just make your mixture in a blender, pour it into the mold, wait overnight and the next night you have yourself a homemade Popsicle!

http://www.surlatable.com/product/PRO-1257526/?affsrcid=AFF0005&utm_term=88939497941product_type_l1appliances%26product_type_l2ice_cream_makers&adpos=1o5&creative=45300904061&device=t&matchtype=&network=g&gclid=COOlr6uSo8wCFYsCaQod9YsB_w

FullSizeRender 11

Now onto talking about my favorite packaged snacks!!

First we have this frozen fully cooked edamame from Trader Joes. This product is amazing. All you have to do is put the frozen edamame in your lunchbox either the night before school or the morning of, and then when you are ready to eat them at lunch they will be fully defrosted! They’re already fully cooked so need to turn on that stove or anything! Edamame is a great snack that’s full of protein!
FullSizeRender 6

Next we have these organic granola bars. Some granola bars say that they are healthy but read the label and try pronouncing all of the ingredients and preservatives in there, I dare you. These granola bars are just made with dried fruit and nuts. So chewy and delicious! I guess it’s why they’re called Pure granola bars. They come in a variety of flavors; my favorite is the blueberry flavor. You can find these bars at Fresh Thyme.

FullSizeRender 9

This is probably my favorite cereal of all time. Kashi GOLEAN Crunch Honey Almond Flax. They’re not lying about the crunch, I put milk in this cereal and five minutes later it’s still crunchy. This cereal is also great on its own without milk! High in protein and fiber and has a nice sweet honey taste to it.
FullSizeRender 5

Mary’s Gone Crackers. Good stuff man. You might as well change the name of the crackers to “Alyson’s Gone Mad for these Crackers.” They’re crispy, organic, gluten free, non-GMO, and vegan. They have chia seeds, flax seeds, whole grain brown rice, quinoa, and black sesame seeds. However, these aren’t just for hardcore health-nuts, they really are quite tasty and you should all give them a go. I especially enjoy these crackers with cheese and turkey slices. You can find these crackers at Jewel or I also have a link below so you can find them if you don’t live near a Jewel. P.S. sorry that the box is ripped in the photo.

http://www.marysgonecrackers.com/store-locator

FullSizeRender 7

I hope you buy some of my favorite products and try them out! I highly recommend them all! Have a great rest of your Earth day and a wonderful weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

