Quinoa Tabbouleh

Hello there! I hope you’re all psyched for Passover next week, because I know I am!!

Ok, I realize that not all of you know what the holiday Passover is so let me do a quick summary:

A long time ago Jews were slaves. Then we were free. Let’s celebrate and eat food together.

That’s basically the gist of all Jewish holidays to be honest.

I know I skipped over the whole middle part of the story but I didn’t want to bore you all with the details.

 

Passover is next week (starts this Friday night) and some of you may know that during the week of Passover, you aren’t allowed to eat leavened bread for the whole week. Reason being, when the Jews were escaping from slavery, they were like “Oh no, we don’t have time to bake the bread entirely. Let’s just take this flat, cardboard tasting bread and eat that!” That flat cardboard bread is now called matzah and you eat it during the week of Passover instead of normal bread as you cry and think about how much you miss pizza, pasta, and sandwiches.

I mean, even though I’m Jewish I don’t really follow this rule; I still eat all the carbs. I just eat matzah a few times during the week to channel my Jew-ness.

FullSizeRender 3
That’s what matzah looks like, it’s in the basket

 

But for people out there who follow the rule and don’t eat bread the whole week, kudos to you. Here is a recipe to help you out! Quinoa is kosher for Passover! For all of you non-Jewish people, you totally can eat this salad too. It’s super fresh and tastes great.

 

Also, just as a little explanation of the dish for some of you who read the title and were like:

  1. What the heck is quinoa?
  2. What the heck is tabbouleh?

 

Quinoa (keen-wah) is a grain that’s high in protein, fiber, several vitamins and minerals, and is low in calories! It’s sort of like couscous, but a different texture. You should definitely start incorporating quinoa into your diet. It’s healthy and honestly tastes really good if you have the right kind of dressing and ingredients to put in it.

IMG_6381

Tabbouleh (pronounced: tah-boo-lay) is a Mediterranean salad traditionally made with tomatoes, parsley, mint, bulgur, onion, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. In my version that I have for you today, I replaced the bulgur with quinoa and added in cucumbers, feta, and lemon zest!

FullSizeRender
I know this is a strange, posed photograph of herbs and vegetables, but I thought it looked festive and colorful

 

Random Thought Time: I don’t know about all of you, but at this point in the year it feels like there are so many things going on: my final choir concerts, senior project, prom, graduation. AHHHH!!! It’s sometimes a bit overwhelming. So much so, that I forget to take a second and actually enjoy how great all of those things that I listed are! At times, my stress has a mind of its own and completely takes over (I’m sure many of you can relate to this). I especially have been thinking a lot about this after discussing the story of Passover in my Sunday school class. Jews were once slaves in Egypt, and here I am complaining that the Wi-Fi on my iPad isn’t working. Believe it or not, Passover has actually become one of my favorite holidays, and let me tell you why. I don’t connect with this holiday by cutting bread out of my diet for a week. But rather by taking a little extra time out of my day to appreciate things that I tend to take for granted everyday like my freedom, the ability to vote, access to clean water, etc. (I suggest you all do the same) Call me a sappy, overly-enthusiastic optimist if you want, but I find that life is more fulfilling when you remember to be grateful for everything that you have every once in a while. For me, Passover is the perfect time to do that.  Alright I’m done with my philosophical rant…until my next post.

Anyways, I present to you the recipe! I recommend making this salad the Sunday night before school starts and you’ll have your lunch all set and ready to go for the next week! The salad keeps really well in a Tupperware container.

Quinoa Tabbouleh:

FullSizeRender 2

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Serves: 5

 

Ingredients:

1 cup of uncooked quinoa

3 cups of chopped cucumber (into tiny pieces)

2 cups of cherry tomatoes

1 1/2 cups of feta

3 Tbsp. of green onion

1/2 cup of parsley

1/4 cup of chopped mint

1 lemon

1/3 cup of olive oil

 

Directions:

  1. Add 2 cups of water to 1 cup of quinoa. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and cover. Then let simmer for approximately 15 minutes. It’s done when all of the water has been absorbed and the quinoa is nice and fluffy.
  2. While the quinoa is cooling, chop up cucumbers, tomatoes, feta, green onion, parsley, and mint into tiny pieces. Add in all of the chopped ingredients into quinoa. Zest 1 whole lemon and add in the juice (around 3 Tbs. of juice) and olive oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Mix all together and enjoy!

 

I hope you enjoy this tasty and nutritious recipe!

One thought on “Quinoa Tabbouleh

  1. Lisa April 21, 2016 / 3:53 pm

    I love reading your blog, Alyson! And I especially love your recipes. Can’t wait to make this one. You are very talented and blessed! I am always thankful for family! Going to miss seeing you all onSaturday. Blessing to you! And again? Thank you for your fun blog posts! Keep them coming…

    Like

Leave a Reply

