Chunky Monkey PB & Banana Sandwich

Hello again!

You know how you’ll just be going about your day and then for some random reason you start craving some kind of food?

We all know that feeling when we’re just taking a math test and BOOM out of nowhere you’re like wow a taco sounds really good right now. Or dang, cheesy nachos are what my taste buds want at this very second, bring on the cheese pronto.

Well today I was craving what I normally crave probably 99% of the time and that is peanut butter. Some people may know this about me, but I am obsessed with peanut butter. I seriously contemplate applying for a spot on the TV show “My Strange Addiction” and talking about my obsession because sometimes I think it is a legitimate problem. When I see a recipe that has peanut butter in it, it’s like I’m a little puppy whose ears perk up if it sees a squirrel outside the front window.

Of course we know the classic peanut butter and jelly sandwich. We’ve all had one probably hundreds of times in our lifetime. According to New York Daily News, a survey revealed that an average American would eat nearly 3,000 PB&J sandwiches in their lifetime. Wowza.

It seems like one would get pretty bored of that same gosh darn sandwich. So I have a solution for you. I present to you a sandwich that is simple, easy, and yet incredibly delicious. If you are a fan of that sweet and salty combination like I am, than this is the sandwich for you. All of you fellow peanut butter lovers out there, don’t worry I got you covered.

I have for you all a Chunky Monkey Peanut Butter Banana Sandwich.

side photo

Yeah you read that right.

 

This is epic, I tell you sheer joy in between two slices of sourdough bread.

Having bananas on a sandwich sounds apeeling, right?! Hahaha….okay that was pretty bad, I’ll admit that

 

Anyways, I went out to get some good quality bread and my mom suggested this bakery in downtown Highland Park called The Breadsmith. I highly recommend the place. Let me tell you, the sourdough that I got for the sandwich was top-notch.

Speaking of recommendations, I find that this sandwich is best when it’s grilled on a Panini maker or on top of the stove on a pan. The peanut butter will be all ooey-gooey and will make you regret that you weren’t introduced to this monstrosity of a sandwich before. So I would make this kind of sandwich on the weekend if I were you. You can have this sandwich cold by all means for a school night, it’s just better warm.

This sandwich is great because you probably have all of these ingredients in the house anyways (except for the chia seeds if you aren’t a crazy health nut like I am) so you can just whip this up on moment’s notice and make it in only a few minutes.

I know I said that most of my recipes would be super duper healthy, but hey this is a special treat that is certainly worth making. It’s honestly not all that bad for you, there are banana slices and chia seeds on there to make it sort of healthy-ish…

photo with cinnamon
Sprinkle of cinnamon always does the trick

Also I forgot to mention, peanut butter is pretty good for you too. It has a lot of protein to keep you full for long periods of time so you won’t be temped to snack on some junk food later on in the day. Peanut butter has fiber, magnesium, and Vitamin E! People assume that because peanut butter has a lot of fat in it that it’s automatically unhealthy. However, sometimes fat is a good thing. Peanut butter contains unsaturated fat (as do avocados, olive oil, and other various nuts) that help maintain healthy cholesterol levels and can help prevent against heart disease. Score! The key is balance and portion sizes. You can’t just eat a cup of peanut butter from the jar with a spoon even though I have definitely been tempted to do that. If you have about 2 tablespoons for your portion size, you’ll be all set.

IMG_6331
Me trying to swirl the peanut butter 

I loved being able to take these photos with my community sponsor, Laura Bednarski, who is a professional food stylist. She showed me all of these great techniques for photographing food and her food styling kit that has all of these tiny little tools to help move the food around precisely. Pretty cool stuff. It was really fun to play around with the different angles and exposure settings on the camera. Hope you enjoy the sandwich as much as the photos!

Chunky Monkey Peanut Butter Banana Sandwich

regular photo

Prep time: 2 minutes

Cook time: 5 minutes

Total time: around 7-10 minutes

 

Ingredients:

2 slices of Sourdough bread

Butter

Peanut butter

Half of a banana-sliced

A drizzle of honey

A sprinkle of cinnamon

A sprinkle of chia seeds

 

Directions:

  1. Butter one side of each slice of sourdough bread and place on panini maker or pan on the stove to toast up for a bit. Watch it to make sure it doesn’t burn!
  2. Thinly slice up your banana.
  3. Spread a generous amount of peanut butter on your slice of bread and place your banana slices on top. Drizzle on a bit of honey. Sprinkle on some cinnamon and chia seeds.
  4. Put your other slice of bread on top and cook on each side for a few minutes. It should have a nice golden brown color on each side. Enjoy!

 

Notes:

There are TONS of variations for this sandwich. The possibilities are endless. You can use brioche, leftover banana bread, french toast, waffles, or any kind of bread base that you choose. You also can use any kind of nut butter (or Nutella sounds good too) that you want; I used an all-natural peanut butter. You obviously don’t have to use chia seeds for this sandwich. I think they just give a nice crunch and texture to the sandwich along with an added health kick. You also could put thinly sliced apple on the sandwich instead of banana. If you wanted to have the classic Elvis sandwich, you could add bacon to the original recipe. There are so many different options. Go with what you like!

Hope you guys try this sandwich out! Have a wonderful rest of your day!

One thought on “Chunky Monkey PB & Banana Sandwich

  1. lauravoices April 22, 2016 / 2:37 am

    Loved this sandwich! Great blog Alyson. Looking forward to many more great recipes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

